Dialogue

Voicelines from a Thief-like heist game made in Unreal Engine. These are for the tutorial level.


Context Lines
Character Instructor Voicelines written for the gruff instructor of a thieves guild.
Welcome Welcome, recruit. There should be a letter around here to explain today's assignment. [see start tutorial letter. also shows player how to read documents.]
Obstacle course part 1 What's the most important tool for a thief? Her lockpicks? Blackjack? No, it's her body. Here you will show the way you move. Try getting past this obstacle course.
Jump over obstacle First, show us how far you can jump. Mind the gap.
Climb wall Now it's time to climb. If you build up some momentum you can also jump over gaps and reach the ledge on the other side.
Crawl through tunnel Sometimes, you find yourself at a dead end. But dead ends are for quitters. See if you can find a way through.
Locked door p1 This door is locked. If you don't have the right tools, a good-ol-fashioned key can also work. Check the other room.
Locked door p2 Hey, good job! With that key in your pocket nothing stands in your way.
Locked door p3 Another door? This one doesn't have a key, so we can put those lockpicking skills to good use. The tools are on that table.
Hookshot Another dead end? Not for us, of course. Look up. See that wooden beam? You can use this wonderful little contraption to get up.
Introduction guards Remember how we snatched some of those guard armours? Makes you trying to sneak past a bit more... frightful.
Light p1 Your best friend, besides me of course, are the shadows. If you keep to the darkness, guards will have a hard time spotting you.
Light p2 However scary it might be, sometimes it's better to get close to a guard if it means staying in the shadows.
Sound Some surfaces can muffle your footsteps. Stay quiet to get past this guard.
Noisemaker At times, you might not be able to simply sneak past people in your way. With one of these noisemakers, each one powered by a small Crystal, you can create a distraction. Throw it, and the guard will leave their post to investigate.
Weapons p1 We don't encourage killing. Yet there are moments we have no choice. Sneak up on this guard and.. neutralize them. Don't worry, your dagger isn't real. For now.
Weapons p2 You're a thief, so being noticed isn't ideal. But it happens. For such occasions, be ready to go all out. Defeat this guard.
Cutter There will not always be darkness to hide in, so you'll have to create some. Take that cutter and snap those cables.
End Congrats, recruit. But don't celebrate just yet. You still have your first real mission in front of you. Don't get too... vengeful with your old "friend". We'll be watching the heist and award you a score based on how you handle it. Killing is definitely a deductible. Other than that, I wish you the best of luck.


Dialogue excerpts from a horror/romance visual novel, The Red Ballet, written in Ren'py.


The game follows Sid as he attempts to follow his dream of becoming a ballerino, but The Red Ballet holds secrets that starts to mess with his life.


Sid has told his best friend Awa about having a chance to become a dancer at the ballet.

show Awa Neutral

show Sid Angry

Sid "Why do you look so shocked. I'm a good dancer!"

Awa "It's not that. I know you are."

show Awa Uncomfortable

She looks uncomfortable for a moment, sharp nails scratching against the metal chassis of her laptop.

Awa "I'm happy for you, obviously, I'm just..."

Awa "It feels too good to be true."

show Sid Sad

Sid "I get what you mean. But what if it is true?"

Sid "Shouldn't I at least... try?"

Sid "I'm sick of being stuck here."

show Awa Laugh

Awa "What, here with me?"

show Sid Surprised

Sid "Of course not. You're one of the few good things in my life."

show Sid Solemn

Sid "I mean... In this life. Never able to move forward."

Sid "I want to be something. Someone. So, so badly."

show Awa Happy

Awa "Then you already have the answer to the question you're trying to ask."

Awa "Act first, think later."

Awa "That's what Awa would do."


Emilio calls Sid after a date, Awa is a nuisance


play sound phoneanswer

pause 1.0

show Sid CasualPantsConfused

play music upbeat_theme fadein 1.0

Phone "HEY!"

Sid "Euhm... Hi?"

Phone "THIS IS SID, RIGHT?"

Sid "Not if this is someone trying to sell me something."

Phone "OH, BUT WAIT UNTIL YOU HEAR ABOUT THE NEW SUCKING FUNCTION ON OUR NEW VACU-"

Sid "I'm hanging up now."

Phone "NO, WAIT."

show Sid CasualPantsHappy

Phone "IT'S EMILIO. SORRY, I PROBABLY SHOULD HAVE JUST STARTED WITH THAT."

Awa purses her lips and flutters her eyelashes.

show Awa CasualPantsMischief

Awa "Sid, how COULD you!? You have to stop fucking people in the inventory room of the store."

Awa "YOU'RE TEARING THIS FAMILY APART. THINK ABOUT SIDRIETTA, WHAT WILL SHE DO WITHOUT A FATHER?"

Emilio "EUUUUUUHHMMMM."

show Sid CasualPantsAngry

Sid "By Jesus, Awa..."

Sid "Please ignore her, she's deranged."

Emilio "Your... wife?"

Awa "Euwh."

Awa makes gurgling noises, pushing two fingers down her throat.

show Awa CasualPantsScared at flip with easeoutbottom:

She starts to cough, apparently going too far with her theatrics.

Sid "She's my roommate."

Sid "Hopefully not for too long."

Sid has a nightmare


Nightmare scene.

scene nightmare1

with Fade (2.0, 2.0, 1.0, color="#212121")

I'm not sure where I am.

play ambient spookywhispers fadein 2.0

I can hear whispers, but from far away. As if I'm hearing a recording.

Isn't this what you wanted?

No...

I never... I never asked for this.

ISN'T THIS WHAT YOU WANTED?

scene nightmare2

with dissolve

stop ambient fadeout 4.0

The whispers fade.

But I can make something out in the darkness, a light flickering in through silken sheets.

I try to focus through my delirium.

#scene nightmare3

#with dissolve

scene nightmareanim with dissolve

window hide

$ renpy.pause (3.0, hard=True)

play music IMTIRED fadein 2.0

I can hear screams all around me, and it's no longer coming from far away.

I hear a child, a girl, yell into my ear. It starts to ring.

Woman "LET HER GO. NO, PLEASE."

"AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA"

Another woman laughs.

But it's not a woman. It's something else. Something else entirely.

Something else "This is what I wanted."

Something else "NOW WE'RE FUCKING TALKING."

Something else "DANCE, RAT, DANCE."

Something else "DANCE UNTIL YOUR LITTLE PAWS ARE SLICED TO FUCKING RIBBONS. DANCE UNTIL YOU HAVE FUCKING STUBS FOR LEGS."

Something else "YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE."

Something else "MEAT."

Something else "MEAT FOR EATING. MEAT FOR FUCKING. MEAT FOR DANCING."

Something else "IT WILL NEVER BE ENOUGH."

Something else "HAH."

I see something in the distance. They're watching me. The audience.

Something else "THIS IS WHAT I WANTED. THIS IS WHAT YOU WANTED."

Something else "THIS IS WHAT THEY WANT. YES, RAT."

Something else "DANCE FOR THEM."

Sid "Who are you? WHAT DO YOU WANT? WHAT IS THIS?"

My voice isn't my own. It's darker, gravel grinding into the asphalt under rubber tires.

I cough, feeling the sharp rocks cut through soft membrane.

Something else "AWWW. I'M EVERYTHING YOU WISH YOU COULD BE."

Something else "BUT I DON'T THINK YOU WILL BE. YOU DON'T HAVE WHAT IT TAKES."

Sid "I can do it. I'll show her. I'll make her proud."

Something else "PROUD? SHE'S ALREADY ROTTED IN THE GRAVE. THINGS LOWER THAN EVEN YOU HAVE ALREADY SHAT HER OUT."

Something else "MAKE YOURSELF PROUD FOR ONCE."

Something else "YOU DON'T EVEN WANNA SHOW THEM WHAT HAPPENED. GO ON, SHOW THEM?"

Sid "N-not that. I can't..."

Something else "SEE? AND YOU WANT TO BE CENTER STAGE."

They're all looking at me. What does she mean? What does he not want to show us?

What did he DO?

Sid "Stop. Stop. Don't look away. Look at me. Please, just look at me."

If I turn around, if I look at the play happening behind me.

scene STATIC

play sound loudtvstatic

Then they'll know.